Making diet and fitness fun and easy

I have had the 4-Hour Body for almost 2 weeks now, and have read almost all of it, and re-read the chapters that are most important to me.  It is 12:22AM right now and I can not sleep.  I don’t really have insomnia, I do sleep well every night I just take a long time to get to sleep most nights.  I have been this was ever since I was a kid, thankfully the chapter titled “Engineering the Perfect Night’s Sleep” will solve this for me, right?

Instead of just reviewing the steps for turning off my monkey mind I will write about them as well.

  1. 67-70 Degree Room Temperature
    This probably won’t be possible for me, I have a 2.5 month old baby sleeping in our room and my wife is constantly cold and likes the room warm.  I will probably be closer to 71-73 degrees but should be OK.
  2. Eat a Large Fat and Protein Meal Within 3 hours
    I don’t really have a consistent schedule (never really have with is why sleeping some times is difficult), so eating is usually not 3 hours before bed.  I usually eat between 6 and 8pm and got to bed between 11 and 12.  In another chapter Tim talks about celery sticks and almond butter as a night snack.  I have not tried it yet but I well try to see if that helps at all.
  3. The Phillips goLite
    I saw this light at my local Costco the other day in the pharmacy section, might spend the $40 on it if it does help with waking up and getting to sleep as Tim suggests.
  4. Tax the Nervous system
    I have not been able to try this yet but might make the pre-hab workout my evening workout.  Currently I am doing dynamic stretches, myotatic crunches, and kettlebell swings or walking for my morning workout
  5. Ice Bath One Hour Prior to Bed
    This one is probably something I will start doing as well.  Currently I am taking a 5 minute cold shower in the morning after my workouts but adding the ice or just a cold bath seems to kill 2 birds with one stone (sleep and BAT fat loss)
  6. Ultrasonic Humidifier
    I do have a humidifier, we bought it just before our baby was born a few months ago for him, but we bought a warm mist one not an ultrasonic one.  It does seem to help my sinus issues, but doesn’t do anything to get me to sleep faster.
  7. NightWave Pulse Light
    I am not sure if this would be a good idea for me as I sleep with my wife and baby.  It does say that does not disturb others but I am doubtful of that.  I think this would be a last resort for me.
  8. Half Military Crawl
    This is actually how I usually wake up, I have not consciously tried to use this position to fall asleep yet but I will try it and report back.

I will post an update in the next week or so after I have tried these few things out and see how well they help.

NightWave Sleep Assistant Travel Edition NightWave Sleep Assistant Travel Edition

The NightWave Sleep Assistant for Insomnia Blue Light Travel Edition provides users with a pre-sleep relaxation session from the comfort and privacy of their own bedroom. By projecting a soft blue light into a darkened room, users are able to follow the light as it slowly rises and falls. By doing so, the users breathing slowly becomes synchronized with the blue wave to provide the body with a relaxing rhythm. This easy to use, safe and non-invasive device is designed to alleviate restless mental activity and help reduce stress, tension, and anxiety. By calming the body and mind through breathing, the NightWave is the only non-drug method that aids in ending insomnia. Give your body the good night’s sleep that it deserves and purchase your NightWave Sleep Assistant for Insomnia Blue Light Travel Edition today from ActiveForever! NightWave Sleep Assistant for Insomnia Blue Light Travel Edition Features: Eliminates tossing and turning Provides physical relaxation Reduces stress, tension, and anxiety Soft light does not disturb others Helps speed recovery from jet lag Silent, natural, non-invasive device Does not require headphones, wires or masks Projected soft blue light slowly rises and falls Compact size, ideal for traveling Safe and effective for all ages Several mode timers to aid in sleeping


Comments on: "Insomnia – Engineering the Perfect Night’s Sleep" (4)

  1. Hi Justin,

    NightWave utiilizes a simple pre-sleep relaxation routine that can be as short as 7 minutes and as long as 20 (or longer if done in multiple cycles). Tim’s book doesn’t go into great detail to describe it. You should give it a shot if you have trouble quieting your mind and relaxing your body to enter the state of relaxation required for sleep. The light simply ebbs and flows and you synchronize your breathing to it. It’s faint enough to not be seen through eyelids and it completely silent so it is only used by the specific person who wants to use it.

    Good luck with your efforts.

  2. Jason Miller said:

     Hey Justin,

    If you’re looking to save some money there is an iOS App called “Sleep Beat” that does the same thing as Night Wave but for 99 cents instead of $50. Works great and use it anytime I have too much on my mind and can’t sleep.

  3. I almost hate to post this but coming from a family where everyone has this issue, I have a couple of unconventional suggestions:  Homeopathy – yes, I know it isn’t supposed to work. But I went in for help with severe hot flashes. She spent 2hrs taking my med history, gave me a “remedy”.  It changed my sleeping pattern that night! I took it for a week; it’s still working 20 yrs now.  Second is Hypnotheray – retrains your mind to have tools that you can use to consciously put yourself to sleep, stay asleep, and wake up refreshed.  Good luck.

Leave a comment