Making diet and fitness fun and easy

Progress Update

Had some big wins this week. First Tim Ferriss tweeted and posted on his facebook links to my pictures that I posted on 4hourpeople.com. Needless to say I had over 6 times the amount of traffic that day.

Second I actually went to a gym yesterday. Funny thing I ran down to the community gym I used to go to about 4 KM run. There weren’t open for another hour because of the holiday. Luckily there is another gym 1/2 a KM up the road so I ran there and did some crazy lifts. The gym was small and packed, so I am not going to go back there. I got to do deadlifts, did a personal best of 275lbs and I could have done more but my body isn’t used to lifting heavy yet. I wanted to do flat bench but they were all taken. I did incline bench instead, this was always my worst lift. I did a reverse pyramid and finished with a personal best of 165lbs 4 reps. Then I ran the 4.5 KM home. Was an intense workout day for me and really fun, wish I had that much time to workout everyday. Also I find it pretty crazy that I am stronger than I have ever been but the only thing I have been doing is pushups, pullups and 2x20lb kettlebell exercises. Who says you need to pay $400 a year for a gym membership.

Also my 4HB buddy Jason posted a link to my old progress page from a few weeks ago on his blog.  So I though it as time for another picture update.  Here is a list of pictures to show my progress.

December 29th, 2010

March 4th, 2010 - 86 days65

March 25th, 2011 - 86 days

April 8th, 2011 - 100 days

April 21, 2011 - 113 days


I thought I would write a short list of tips for people as well.  Things that are not really stressed enough in the book.

  1. Eat lots of veggies if you want to lose fat.  I think this is more important that legumes.
  2. Schedule you carbs around your workouts.  Eat smaller portions on days off.
  3. Do a big workout on your cheat day.  Usually cheat days are on the weekend when you have more time so do a longer workout before you pig out.
  4. Control your portions.  In the book he says you can eat as much of the allowed foods as you want, but I found this really detrimental to fat loss.
  5. High intensity resistance training is better for fat loss than long bouts of cardio.  This is to be debated scientifically but I have found you get much more bang for your buck.

Stay tuned for my new post on “How exercise does and does not affect fat loss”

Comments on: "Progress Update" (10)

  1. Holy crap dude!! I can believe the results..

  2. Holy crap dude!! Your results are crazy.. Need more info..

  3. Wow, awesome post. This is inspiring. As per your recommendation I’m going to increase veggie intake. Thanks for looking over my blog once in a while, obtaining results like yours are a goal. This past week was #3 for me and my results looked like 1.1% BF fat loss – 3.6 lb body weight loss. Buying a 44lb kettle bell today 🙂

  4. This is unreal, dude! I hadn’t seen the latest pic yet. The difference between days 100 and 113 are really dramatic, let a lone since day 1. It’s awesome to see how your arms are huge now, but it’s all tight. Not to mention your man-boobies turning into rocky pecs. 😉

    I’ll fix the link!

    -j

    • Thanks man. Start doing those burpees and you’ll get there too … LOL.
      100 push ups (night) and 30 pullups (morning) everyday. Takes 10 minutes its too easy.

  5. […] rocking the heck out of fat loss, he’s also kicking muscle gain’s butt. Check out his success so far on 4HB and give his photos a peep! He’s well on his way to the superhuman results we all look […]

  6. Good lord, man! That is incredible progress. You are a poster child for this program. Keep up the great work. I found your blog from NewJohn. Inspirational.

  7. Apchambers said:

    Excellent results. I am also very happy you mentioned more vegetables

  8. Vljflowergirl said:

    I have the book and I just couldnt believe all he ate on the cheat day!!!

Leave a Reply

