Making diet and fitness fun and easy

Its not just about Fat Loss

I while ago I posted and article about intermittent fasting after I found Martin Berkhan’s site http://www.leangains.com/.  To me (and some other smart people) intermittent fasting is great for fat loss but also has many other benefits to health and longevity.

A couple months ago I re-read this guest post by Robb Wolf on Tim’s blog about the Paleo Diet.  I had read it the first time it was published as well, but I was not eating good then and it didn’t really impact me for some reason.  I then went out a bought Robb’s book The Paleo Solution.  This book may have change my life, as well as my friends and families life, way more than the 4-Hour Body did (but the 4 Hour Body did lead me to Robb Wolf).

Since then I have became the Paleo guy in the 4HB Talk Forum, and preaching the Paleo way to anyone that I think would listen online and offline.  I even did a speech about it at my Toastmasters club.

Its about more than just fat loss

Since I have already crushed my goal for fat loss I needed another motivator to eat healthy.  The affects that grains, dairy and even legumes cause on our bodies is enough motivation for me to not eat them, or eat them in very limited qualities.  Here are some direct benifits that I have noticed since going full Paleo:

  1. No more acne
  2. No more body odor (so my wife tells me)
  3. No more breathing/asthma problems
  4. Crazy fast recovery from injuries
  5. Hair staring to grow back on my head
  6. Even more fat loss
  7. Crazy amounts of energy
  8. No more digestion issues
  9. No more joint/arthritis issues

These seem to be common benefits that most people get from eating Paleo.  For any one that is sick with any type of auto-immune disease like rheumatoid arthritis or lupus this diet is a must.

What is the difference between Paleo and Slow Carb?

There are actually very few differences between Paleo and SCD.  Some people thing that Tim developed SCD from the Paleo diet, but because SCD is a Low Glycemic index diet, I think it is more directly from that.

  1. No legumes (beans, lentils)
    Legumes are full of nutrients and high in fiber, but they also contain lectins which are an anti-nutrient and can cause health issues.  Read JD Moyer’s article for a good view on Legumes.
  2. No cheat days
    Some people live for cheat day, I was not one of them.  When you ingest lectins and other anti-nutrient from grains, legumes and dairy it take over 15 days to completely repair your intestinal wall.
  3. Fruit and dark chocolate are allowed
    These foods are the only way that I have been able to eat this way and still enjoy it.  Fruit should be eaten in moderation, and usually coincide with a pre or post workout meal.  Dark chocolate fondue is my Paleo cheat day that sometimes happens too often.

As you can see the differences are minimal.  I don’t miss any flour products or baked goods at all, I do over indulge in fruit sometimes.  I do highly recommend this to anybody that is having success with the slow carb diet as I think you will have even more success with this way of eating.

Here are some additional resource that I have found very useful.

As usual let me know if you have any question, success stories, or comments.

Comments on: "Is there a diet better than the slow carb diet part 2" (3)

  1. Excellent post.  It’s true that SCD is not truly Paleo but it’s definitely a good way for people who don’t want to believe in the doctrine to get into the mindset of ditching grains.  

    I’d imagine there are tons of people swearing by the SCD who would scoff if you said whole grains are bad, yet aren’t eating them anyway.  

    SCD is definitely a step in the right direction though.  

    • Anonymous said:

      Thanks Tom. How is your Paleo diet going? I am pretty strict until I go out or eat at a friends.

  2. […] person that had success with the Slow Carb diet and used it to evolve into intermittent fasting and Paleo I have made suggestions many times and would like to sum them all up for […]

Leave a Reply

