Making diet and fitness fun and easy

If you are single and live on your own I apologize as this post does not really apply to you.

Getting to 100% compliance requires the people around you to be on board as well. Whether it is Paleo or Slow Carb or any other way of eating that is different then what you are currently doing.

In my house I do little shopping or cooking, I do make breakfast a lot these days but that is only 1/3 of the meals. My amazing wife is home on maternity leave with our now 8 month old son. She is a foodie, loves to cook and is a very good cook. She also pretty good when it comes to nutrition, even though that is traditional government food agency nutrition. Now that I have learned what real nutrition is getting her to buy in to that has been tough but I have been successful.  Without her help I would not have has the fat loss success that I have had.  Here are some things that you can do to get the people around you to buy in.

  1. Do some cooking. If you are not the person that normally cooks, take some initiative and cook dinner a few times a week. Make grain free meals that taste good so everyone around you can see how good it they can be.  Brian at http://www.4hourbodyzone.com/ posted a whole article on this here.
  2. Do some grocery shopping. Grab some non traditional food items to cook with, coconut milk, almond flour, sweet potatoes, etc. When people ask it gives you an opportunity to explain what you are doing.
  3. Give them something quick and easy to read. Showing examples of people that have “cured” aliments or lost a lot of weight can be encouraging. If the person is technical and likes to geek out on the science send them some more technical articles. If they like books I recommend Sarah Fragoso’s book “Everyday Paleo“.  It is an very easy read and contains a short summary and lots of practical info and recipes.
  4. Here are some good resources from whole9life
    http://whole9life.com/2009/08/how-to-win-friends-and-influence-paleo/
    http://whole9life.com/2010/05/the-paleo-pitch/

Do you have a spouse that has bought in and helped you as much as mine has?  Leave a comment and let us know how you did it.

Comments on: "Getting “Buy-In” From The People Around You" (1)

  1. This is a necessary post for some people who may be feeling the pressure.  Thanks for writing it.
    My wife, who is thin and doesn’t have a desire to find 5 or 10 lbs to lose (she doesn’t need to anyway) doesn’t do much cooking.  Our situation is kinda weird though. 🙂  Being from Paraguay, she’s not used to eating dinner. Her main meal is lunch, and I’m at work for lunch.  So when I come home, I usually prepare my own dinner anyway.  

    She supports me in other ways, though.  She makes sure not to eat cookies or ice cream when I’m not around and it’s not a cheat day.  She asks me how my day went food-wise (when I ask her to).  She reminds me she doesn’t care if I’m thin and muscular, she just wants me to be healthy.  

    She believes in the diet I’ve adopted even if she doesn’t follow it herself.  I think one day I’d like to bring her around anyway, but for now I appreciate the help she offers me.  

    -j

Leave a Reply

